Tonight on NBCSN: the Bill Buckner, Kirk Gibson, and Jeffrey Maier games

3 Comments

Wonder why I spent so much time over the past couple of days writing about the biggest home runs in World Series history and the biggest blunders in baseball history? The reason: we’re showing three of the games in which those took place on TV tonight.

NBCSN is now in week two of a series we’re calling NBC Sports From the Vault, and this week alone we’re replaying over 50 hours of classic sports events from the past 40 years. Big Notre Dame Football games, Orange Bowl games, Wimbledon and French Open matches, great moments from the PGA Tour, and great moments from the Ryder Cup.

Included in that tonight: three of the most memorable baseball games in the past several decades, all of which will be on this evening:

  • 7 PM Eastern, 4 PM Pacific: Game 1 of the 1988 World Series, featuring Kirk Gibson’s famous walkoff homer;
  • 9:30 PM Eastern, 6:30 PM Pacific: Game 6 of the 1986 World Series, featuring Calvin Schiraldi and John McNamara blowing it. Oh, yeah, I suppose Bill Buckner played a hand as well; and
  • Midnight Eastern, 9 PM  Pacific: Game 1 of the 1996 ALCS, featuring the infamous Jeffrey Maier catch of Derek Jeter’s “home run.”

You also can watch the games on NBCSports.com or the NBC Sports app.

Yeah, you know what’s gonna happen in these games, but it’s still fun to watch it all unfold in real time and to be reminded that none of those iconic moments happened in a vacuum. These moments were the product of a series of events and they, in turn, launched a series of subsequent events which form the fabric of baseball history.

Plus: it beats drinking with your friends on Zoom for the 10th Friday night in a row. So tune in and watch some baseball, OK?