Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

Dodgers, Nationals lineups for NLDS Game 3

Leave a comment

The Nationals and Dodgers split the first two games of the NLDS in L.A. with the Dodgers taking the first contest 6-0 on Thursday while the Nationals answered back with a 4-2 victory on Friday. The NLDS heads to Washington, D.C. for Games 3 and 4.

Here are the starting lineups for Game 3, slated for a 7:45 PM ET first pitch.


RF Joc Pederson
1B Max Muncy
3B Justin Turner
CF Cody Bellinger
LF A.J. Pollock
SS Corey Seager
2B Gavin Lux
C Russell Martin
P Hyun-Jin Ryu

Ryu, 32, put together a Cy Young-caliber performance during the regular season, going 14-5 with a 2.32 ERA and a 163/24 K/BB ratio in 182 2/3 innings of work. In his two starts against the Nationals, he allowed just one run on nine hits and two walks with 13 strikeouts in 14 2/3 innings. The Nats will certainly have their work cut out for them.


SS Trea Turner
RF Adam Eaton
3B Anthony Rendon
LF Juan Soto
1B Howie Kendrick
C Kurt Suzuki
2B Brian Dozier
CF Michael A. Taylor
P Aníbal Sánchez

Sánchez gets the nod over Max Scherzer, who started the NL Wild Card game against the Brewers and threw an inning out of the bullpen in Game 2 of the NLDS on Friday. While Sánchez is no Scherzer, he can certainly hold his own. He finished with a 3.85 ERA during the regular season and held his own against the Dodgers during the regular season, particularly in his July 26 home start in which he limited the Blue Crew to a lone run across seven innings.

Justin Verlander named 2019 American League Cy Young Award winner

Getty Images

Astros starter Justin Verlander was voted by the Baseball Writers Association of America as the 2019 American League Cy Young Award winner. Teammate Gerrit Cole finished in a close second place at 159 points. Charlie Morton finished third at 75 points, Shane Bieber fourth at 64, Lance Lynn fifth at 18, Eduardo Rodríguez and Lucas Giolito sixth at eight, and Mike Minor eighth at seven.

Verlander, 36, won the AL Cy Young Award (and AL MVP Award) in 2011 with the Tigers). He and Cole became the first pair of teammates to finish first and second on the ballot for the AL Cy Young Award. Four NL teammates accomplished the feat: Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling in 2001 and ’02, Don Newcomb and Sal Maglie in 1956, and Mike Marshall and Andy Messersmith in 1974.

During the regular season, Verlander led all starting pitchers in wins (21), games started (34), innings pitched (223), and WHIP (0.803). He also compiled a 2.58 ERA with a 300/42 K/BB ratio. Along with a 300-strikeout season, Verlander achieved other milestones, including reaching 3,000 strikeouts for his career and 200 career postseason strikeouts (an all-time record).

2019 was not without controversy for Verlander, a future Hall of Famer, as he had a well-publicized disagreement with Anthony Fenech of the Detroit Free Press. He tried to have Fenech barred from the clubhouse during media availability despite the collective bargaining agreement ensuring access to BBWAA-credentialed reporters. It was one of many Astros-related scandals in 2019.

Verlander is the first Astro to win the Cy Young Award since Dallas Keuchel in 2015. Roger Clemens (2004) and Mike Scott (1986) also won the award back when the Astros were in the National League.