Rich Schultz/Getty Images

Chris Martin exits NLDS Game 1 with oblique injury

Leave a comment

Braves reliever Chris Martin suffered a left oblique injury while warming up ahead of his appearance in the eighth inning of NLDS Game 1 against the Cardinals. Luke Jackson entered the game to start the eighth inning in place of Martin.

Martin, 33, was acquired by the Braves from the Rangers on July 30 in exchange for pitching prospect Kolby Allard. Martin was good for the Rangers, posting a 3.08 ERA over 38 innings, but wasn’t as successful in 17 2/3 innings with the Braves, compiling a 4.08 ERA.

The Braves should provide more information about Martin’s status after the game.

Update (9:46 PM ET): Per’s Mark Bowman, Martin said he doesn’t expect to pitch again in the series. The Braves can add a pitcher to take his spot on the roster.

Cody Bellinger wins 2019 National League Most Valuable Player Award

Rob Carr/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Dodgers outfielder Cody Bellinger was named the 2019 National League Most Valuable Player by the Baseball Writers Associated of America. He received 19 of 30 first-place votes.

Bellinger, 24, was the NL Rookie of the Year two years ago and is now the MVP. In 2019, he hit .305/.406/.629 with 47 home runs, 115 RBI, 121 runs scored, and 15 stolen bases. He helped the Dodgers win a franchise record 106 games, though they were stopped short in the NLDS by the eventual world champion Nationals.

Bellinger is the first Dodger to win the award since Clayton Kershaw in 2014. He also joins Kirk Gibson, Steve Garvey, Sandy Koufax, and Maury Wills to win the award since the team moved to Los Angeles. Bellinger is overall the 13th Dodger to be named the MVP. He is the 18th NL player to win both a Rookie of the Year Award and an MVP award.

Christian Yelich finished in second place and Anthony Rendon finished in third place. They were followed by Ketel Marte, Ronald Acuña Jr., Nolan Arenado, and Pete Alonso. Also receiving votes were Freddie Freeman, Juan Soto, Jacob deGrom, Josh Donaldson, Trevor Story, Jack Flaherty, J.T. Realmuto, Yasmani Grandal, Max Muncy, Stephen Strasburg, Eugenio Suárez, Hyun-Jin Ryu, Paul Goldschmidt, Kolten Wong, Kevin Pillar, and Max Scherzer.