Tim Anderson, Christian Yelich win AL, NL batting titles

Nuccio DiNuzzo/Getty Images

White Sox shortstop Tim Anderson went 0-for-2 in Sunday’s season finale, but still comfortably won the American League batting title with a .335 average. He is the first member of the White Sox to win the batting title since Frank Thomas in 1997. Anderson slashed .335/.357/.508 with 18 home runs, 56 RBI, 81 runs scored, and 17 stolen bases.

Brewers outfielder Christian Yelich, the reigning NL MVP, barely defeated Diamondbacks shortstop Ketel Marte for the NL batting title. Both hit .329 but when rounded out, Yelich’s .3292 is clearly on top of Marte’s .3286. Yelich, who won the batting title for the Brewers last year, is the first repeat batting champion since Larry Walker in 1998 and ’99 for the Rockies. He’s once again in the running for NL MVP after hitting .329/.429/.671 on the season with 44 home runs, 97 RBI, 100 runs scored, and 30 stolen bases in 580 plate appearances. However, suffering a season-ending injury earlier this month may give Dodgers outfielder Cody Bellinger the edge in award voting.

Other leaders in statistical categories:

Home Runs


  • AL: José Abreu, White Sox (123)
  • NL: Anthony Rendon, Nationals (126)

Stolen Bases

  • AL: Mallex Smith, Mariners (46)
  • NL: Ronald Acuña Jr., Braves (37)


ERA (Starters)


  • AL: Gerrit Cole, Astros (326)
  • NL: Jacob deGrom, Mets (255)


Pujols hits 701st career home run, connects for Cardinals

albert pujols
Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images

ST. LOUIS — Cardinals slugger Albert Pujols hit his 701st home run, connecting Friday night against the Pittsburgh Pirates.

Pujols launched a slider from former teammate Johan Oviedo over the Big Mac Land sign in left field at Busch Stadium. The solo drive in the fourth inning made it 1-all.

Pujols faced Oviedo for the first time and made the 24-year-old righty the 456th different pitcher he’s homered against.

The St. Louis star hadn’t homered in a week since hitting No. 699 and 700 at Dodger Stadium last Friday. Pujols had gone 10 at-bats without a home run after two starts and one pinch-hit appearance.

The Busch Stadium crowd gave the 42-year-old Pujols a long standing ovation before he came out of the Cardinals dugout to tip his cap for a curtain call.

Pujols hit his 22nd home run this season for the NL Central champion Cardinals.

Pujols is fourth on the career home run list behind Barry Bonds (762), Hank Aaron (755) and Babe Ruth (714).