Jayson Stark named winner of 2019 J.G. Taylor Spink Award


LAS VEGAS — The Baseball Writers Association of America has named Jayson Stark the winner of the 2019 J.G. Taylor Spink Award. He will be honored with the award that is presented annually to a sportswriter “for meritorious contributions to baseball writing” during Hall of Fame inductions in Cooperstown next July.

Stark, who currently writes for The Athletic, became a household name in baseball writing in Philadelphia, serving as a beat writer and national baseball columnist for the Philly Inquirer and later as a senior baseball writer at He’s best known for weekly notes columns in which he shares “useless info” and whatever weird and unique stuff that he uncovers, discovers or remembers. He is also the author of three baseball books.

This author will also note that Stark is an extraordinarily nice guy. A lot of people in this business are said to be nice, but — shocker — not everyone called nice is nice. Stark is genuinely nice and is generous with his time and advice. Good for him for earning his profession’s highest honor.

Follow @craigcalcaterra

George Springer sets record with homer in fifth consecutive World Series game

Rob Tringali/MLB Photos via Getty Images
Leave a comment

Astros outfielder George Springer has set another postseason home run record. He swatted a solo home run off of Nationals reliever Tanner Rainey to lead off the bottom of the seventh inning, reducing the Nationals’ lead to 5-3. It marked his fifth consecutive World Series game with a home run, breaking a tie with Reggie Jackson and Lou Gehrig to set a new record, per’s Sarah Langs.

Springer homered in Games 4 through 7 in the 2017 World Series against the Dodgers. The Astros, of course, ultimately won the series to earn the franchise’s first championship.

Springer hadn’t had the best showing in the 2019 playoffs, as he entered Tuesday’s action batting .152/.235/.283 across 51 plate appearances.