Bob Costas, Al Michaels, Joe Buck and Joe Morgan are Frick Award Finalists

Getty Images

Each December the Hall of Fame presents the Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting. Each October they announce the finalists under consideration for the honor. Those finalists were announced yesterday.

It’s a three-year rotation, with this year’s slate consisting of national broadcasters. Next year it will honor “early voices,” from the pre-television age and in 2020, as last year, it will honor team-specific announcers. Here are the national voices under consideration:

  • Bob Costas;
  • Al Michaels;
  • Joe Buck;
  • Don Drysdale;
  • Dizzy Dean;
  • Joe Morgan;
  • Pee Wee Reese; and
  • Buddy Blattner

Full disclosure requires me to note that Costas and Michaels both work for NBC, though their broadcasting legacy and history, like that of the other nominees, extends to multiple platforms and outlets over the year.

Voting will be conducted by the 11 living Frick Award winners and four broadcast historians/columnists. The panel:Marty Brennaman, Dick Enberg, Jaime Jarrin, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Eric Nadel, Vin Scully, Bob Uecker and Dave Van Horne. The historians/columnists are David J. Halberstam, Barry Horn, Ted Patterson and Curt Smith.

The winner will be announced Dec. 13 at the winter meetings at Disney World.

Aaron Judge out of Yankees starting lineup for finale after No. 62

Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

ARLINGTON, Texas — Yankees slugger Aaron Judge wasn’t in the starting lineup for New York’s regular-season finale, a day after his 62nd home run that broke Roger Maris’ 61-year-old American League single-season record.

When Judge homered in the first inning Tuesday night, in the second game of a doubleheader against the Texas Rangers, it was his 55th consecutive game. He has played in 157 games overall for the AL East champions.

With the first-round bye in the playoffs, the Yankees won’t open postseason play until the AL Division Series starts next Tuesday.

Even though Judge had indicated that he hoped to play Wednesday, manager Aaron Boone said after Tuesday night’s game that they would have a conversation and see what made the most sense.

“Short conversation,” Boone said before Wednesday’s game, adding that he was “pretty set on probably giving him the day today.”

Asked if there was a scenario in which Judge would pinch hit, Boone responded, “I hope not.”

Judge went into the final day of the regular season batting .311, trailing American League batting average leader Minnesota’s Luis Arraez, who was hitting .315. Judge was a wide leader in the other Triple Crown categories, with his 62 homers and 131 RBIs.

Boone said that “probably the one temptation” to play Judge had been the long shot chance the slugger had to become the first AL Triple Crown winner since Detroit’s Miguel Cabrera in 2012.