Associated Press

The Diamondbacks guarded their pool with mounted security last night


Back in 2013, the Dodgers clinched the N.L. West title by beating the Diamondbacks at Chase Field. When the game was over, the Dodgers famously made their way to the swimming pool beyond the outfield fence, jumped in and celebrated there. There were even rumors that someone in Dodger blue peed in the dang thing. Needless to say it displeased the Diamondbacks and helped fuel a nasty little feud between the clubs for a couple of years.

Last night the Dodgers clinched something even bigger at Chase Field: the NLDS. And, as has become custom, they celebrated their Division Series victory with champagne, beer and revelry. They did not, however, celebrate by taking a dip in the Chase Field pool. Why?

Because the Dbacks guarded it like Fort Knox:

Yep, mounted security. And it stayed there for a long, long time:. The game ended at about 10:45PM Pacific time. The guards and their mighty steeds remained for almost another hour and a half:

They left a couple of minutes after that, having been successful in their duty. Not that the Dodgers even tried to jump in it. Indeed, Dave Roberts said the other day they wouldn’t be doing that if they won. I guess the Dbacks wanted to make doubly sure.

Mookie Betts, Javier Baez leading off the All-Star lineups

Getty Images
Leave a comment

I can’t imagine what it’s like to fill out the lineup card for an All-Star team. Most of the guys are 1-4 hitters on their own teams, but you gotta slot most of them someplace lower. Egos are probably a consideration. Strategic stuff. “Which top of the order or middle of the lineup hitter is batting eighth?” is both a difficult and thankless question.

Dave Roberts and A.J. Hinch have to do it anyway, and today they released the All-Star lineups. Seeing Bryce Harper batting sixth and Manny Machado batting seventh is just not part of the usual baseball experience:


1. Mookie Betts, RF
2. Jose Altuve, 2B
3. Mike Trout, CF
4. J.D. Martinez, DH
5. Jose Ramirez, 3B
6. Aaron Judge, LF
7. Manny Machado, SS
8. Jose Abreu, 1B
9. Salvador Perez, C


1. Javier Baez, 2B
2. Nolan Arenado, 3B
3. Paul Goldschmidt, DH
4. Freddie Freeman, 1B
5. Matt Kemp, LF
6. Bryce Harper, CF
7. Nick Markakis, RF
8. Brandon Crawford, SS
9. Willson Contreras, C

Not that this is gonna hold for long what with all of the substitutions.