Getty Images

Dodgers acquire Luis Ysla from Red Sox

Leave a comment

The Dodgers acquired minor league left-hander Luis Ysla from the Red Sox for cash considerations, the team announced Saturday. Ysla was designated for assignment by the Red Sox on Wednesday in order to clear roster space for incoming infielder Eduardo Núñez. He’ll be assigned to the Dodgers’ pitching staff in Double-A Tulsa and will supplant Adrian Gonzalez on the 40-man roster while Gonzalez rehabs a lumbar disc herniation.

Ysla, 25, impressed during his first run in the Red Sox’ organization in 2016. He maintained a cumulative 3.99 ERA, 4.3 BB/9 and 9.9 SO/9 over 56 1/3 innings with the club’s Double- and Triple-A affiliates and compiled a 2-5 record in 40 relief appearances. The 2017 season was a different story altogether, as the lefty regressed to a 5.05 ERA, 6.2 BB/9 and 8.5 SO/9 during his second run with Double-A Portland.

Ysla will supplement a Double-A relief corps that already features left-handers Brian Moran, Colt Hynes and Michael Johnson. The Dodgers have been fairly quiet in the week leading up to Monday’s trade deadline, but are rumored to have interest in Athletics’ hurler Sonny Gray, Rangers’ No. 2 starter Yu Darvish and Tigers’ lefty Justin Wilson, among others.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
19 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.