Getty Images

Mike Schmidt thinks Odubel Herrera can’t be a leader because of the “language barrier”

93 Comments

Mike Schmidt is perhaps the greatest third baseman in baseball history. He’s also a pretty major jackwagon.

Here’s what Schmidt said on 94WIP in Philly today while talking about whether the Phillies can or should build their team around outfielder Odubel Herrera:

“My honest answer to that would be no because of a couple of things. First of all, it’s a language barrier. Because of that, I think he can’t be a guy that would sort of sit in a circle with four, five American players and talk about the game. Or try and learn about the game or discuss the inner workings of the game. Or come over to a guy and say, ‘Man, you gotta run that ball out.’ Just can’t be — because of the language barrier — that kind of a player.”

David Ortiz and Adrian Beltre were unavailable for comment, probably because they injured themselves rolling their eyes too hard.

Herrera, from Venezuela is not a native English speaker, of course, but he routinely gives interviews in English. English, I am 100% certain, is much, much better than Schmidt’s Spanish or the Spanish of whoever it is he does think could be a team leader for the Phillies.

In other news, Schmidt won a World Series championship with Venezuelan Manny Trillo as a teammate in 1980 and a pennant in 1983 with Venezuelan Bo Diaz as a teammate. No word on whether or not he gave them instruction or encouragement in their native language during those seasons.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
21 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.