Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Rick Porcello wins the 2016 American League Cy Young Award


Red Sox starter Rick Porcello has been named the 2016 American League Cy Young Award winner by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Porcello is the first member of the Red Sox to win the award since Pedro Martinez in 2000.

Porcello, 27, led the majors with 22 wins and a 5.91 strikeout-to-walk ratio. He also put up a 3.15 ERA and a 189/32 K/BB ratio in 223 innings of work.

Porcello narrowly edged out Justin Verlander of the Tigers, 137 points to 132. Corey Kluber of the Indians finished in third place followed by Orioles closer Zach Britton, Chris Sale of the White Sox, J.A. Happ and Aaron Sanchez of the Blue Jays, Masahiro Tanaka of the Yankees, Andrew Miller of the Yankees and Indians, Michael Fulmer of the Tigers, and Jose Quintana of the White Sox.

Video: Edwin Encarnación grounds into 5-4-3 triple play

Mike Stobe/Getty Images

The Yankees threatened early against the Twins in the top of the first inning of Monday night’s game in Minnesota. DJ LeMahieu and Aaron Judge drew leadoff walks Martín Pérez, bringing up slugger Edwin Encarnación. Encarnación battled Pérez, ultimately rolling over on the ninth pitch, a change-up. Third baseman Luis Arraez gobbled it up and stepped on the third base bag, then fired to Jonathan Schoop at second base for the second out. Schoop got the ball over to Miguel Sanó at first base just in time to complete the 5-4-3 triple play.

It’s the second triple play turned this year, as the White Sox also accomplished a 5-4-3 double play on May 22 against the Astros. The Twins’ last triple play occurred on June 1, 2017 against the Angels, also a 5-4-3 triple-killing.

The Yankees were eventually able to generate some offense in the third inning on a Gio Urshela solo homer and an RBI single from Encarnación. It’s a 2-2 game as this gets published.