Max Scherzer wins the 2016 National League Cy Young Award

Rob Carr/Getty Images

Nationals starter Max Scherzer has been named the 2016 National League Cy Young Award winner by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He’s the first member of the Nationals/Expos to win the Cy Young Award since Pedro Martinez in 1997 as a member of the Expos.

Scherzer, 32, led the majors with 284 strikeouts while leading the National League with 20 wins and 228 1/3 innings. He also compiled a 2.96 ERA which ranked eighth among qualified starters in the NL, but had a 3.24 FIP (5th) and a 3.37 xFIP (3rd).

Scherzer has now won the Cy Young Award in both leagues. He’s the sixth player to do so, joining Gaylord Perry, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, Roger Clemens, and Roy Halladay.

Scherzer received 25 of 30 first-place votes. Cubs starters Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks finished in second place, respectively, followed by Madison Bumgarner of the Giants, Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers, Johnny Cueto of the Giants, Jose Fernandez of the Marlins, Noah Syndergaard of the Mets, Jake Arrieta of the Cubs, and Tanner Roark of the Nationals.