Dave Roberts named 2016 National League Manager of the Year

Maxx Wolfson/Getty Images

Dodgers manager Dave Roberts was named the 2016 National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He’s the first Dodgers manager to win the award since Tommy Lasorda in 1988, the last time the club won the World Series.

Roberts, 44, was in his first year as a full-time manager and he helped lead the team to a 91-71 record, winning the NL West title. They beat the Nationals in five games in the NLDS, but were stopped by the eventual World Series champion Cubs in the NLCS over six games.

The Dodgers, it seemed, lost every player to the disabled list at one point or another during the regular season. That included ace Clayton Kershaw, who missed over two months during the summer with a back issue. Rich Hill was three weeks late debuting for the Dodgers after being acquired from the Athletics due to a blister. While the Dodgers had the highest Opening Day payroll at $223 million, the club did have a lot of adversity to overcome and the fact that they did is a testament to their manager.

Roberts received 16 of 30 first-place votes. Cubs manager Joe Maddon finished second in balloting, followed by the Nationals’ Dusty Baker, the Mets’ Terry Collins, and the Marlins’ Don Mattingly.