Alex Cora named Astros bench coach


The Houston Astros have named Alex Cora their new bench coach, Ken Rosenthal reports.

Cora played 14 seasons in the majors and has been a TV and radio analyst for ESPN and ESPN Deportes since he retired in 2012. He has been a candidate for multiple managerial gigs in the past couple of offseasons and has served as general manager for Puerto Rico’s Criollos de Caguas in the Caribbean Series. Cora replaces Trey Hillman, who left to manage the SK Wyverns in the Korea Baseball Organization.

In other news, scientists have announced that they are no more than two to three years away from discovering what, exactly, bench coaches do.

Brian Cashman signs 4-year contract to remain Yankees GM

Lucas Peltier-USA TODAY Sports

SAN DIEGO — Brian Cashman has signed a four-year contract to remain the New York Yankees Senior Vice President and General Manager. The announcement was made during the first day of baseball’s Winter Meetings.

Cashman, New York’s GM since 1998, had been working on a handshake agreement since early November, when his five-year contract expired.

The Yankees were swept by four games in the AL Championship Series and haven’t reached the World Series since winning in 2009. It is the franchise’s longest title drought since an 18-year gap between 1978-96.

Cashman’s main goal during the offseason is trying to re-sign AL MVP Aaron Judge.

Judge hit an American League-record 62 homers this season with a .311 batting average and 131 RBIs. He turned down the Yankees’ offer on the eve of opening day of a seven-year contract that would have paid $213.5 million from 2023-29.

While Judge remains on the market, Cashman was able to re-sign Anthony Rizzo on Nov. 15 to a two-year contract worth $40 million after turning down a $16 million player option.

Cashman has been the Yankees general manager since 1998. He has been with the organization since 1986, when he was a 19-year old intern in the scouting department. In his 25 seasons as GM, the Yankees have reached the postseason 21 times, including four World Series championships and six American League titles.