Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

Corey Seager named 2016 National League Rookie of the Year


No surprises here. Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager was named the 2016 National League Rookie of the Year by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He’s the first Dodger to win the award since Todd Hollandsworth in 1996. (Fun fact: Hollandsworth was the fifth consecutive Dodger rookie to win the award, following Hideo Nomo, Raul Mondesi, Mike Piazza, and Eric Karros. Mondesi and Piazza won unanimously.) Seager is the first shortstop to win the NL ROY since Hanley Ramirez in 2006.

Seager, 22, dazzled in his first full season, batting .308/.365/.512 with 26 home runs, 72 RBI, and 105 runs scored in 687 plate appearances, helping the Dodgers reach the NLCS. Corey, the brother of Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager, was drafted by the Dodgers 18th overall in the first round of the 2012 draft.

Nationals outfielder Trea Turner finished in second place in Rookie of the Year balloting followed by Dodgers starter Kenta Maeda in third place. Rockies shortstop Trevor Story was fourth, followed by Cardinals shortstop Aledmys Diaz, Rockies starter Jon Gray, Mets starter Steven Matz, and Cardinals reliever Seung Hwan Oh.

Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant won the NL ROY unanimously last year.

Tom Brady’s bid to trademark ‘Tom Terrific’ rejected

Getty Images

Remember back in June when New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady attempted to trademark “Tom Terrific?” And how everyone laughed at him because anyone who knows the first thing about sports knows that Tom Seaver, not Brady, was the first — and, frankly, only — “Tom Terrific?”

Well, our laughing was validated because his application was rejected by the Patent and Trademark Office because of a “false connection” with Tom Seaver. That’s the report from trademark lawyer Josh Gerben, who analyzes Brady’s failed bid here:

Next up on Great Moments in Hubris, I presume, will be my often ridiculous alma mater. But for now:

Sit down, son.