Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

Mike Trout, Mookie Betts among Thursday’s Silver Slugger Award winners


Awards season continued on Thursday evening as MLB Network announced the winners of the Silver Slugger Awards presented by Louisville Slugger. Here they are.

American League

National League

In the National League, Joey Votto and Kris Bryant were snubbed, arguably. It was a close one at shortstop in the AL between Bogaerts and Carlos Correa. In the outfield, one could’ve justifiably picked J.D. Martinez in the AL and Ryan Braun in the NL. And, of course, one could make an argument for Madison Bumgarner over Jake Arrieta for the pitcher’s Silver Slugger.

The Red Sox had the most Silver Slugger winners as a team with three (Bogaerts, Betts, Ortiz). The Cubs, Nationals, and Rockies tied with two each in the National League.

As we saw with Tuesday’s Gold Glove Award winners, there’s lots of fresh blood earning hardware now. 11 of the 18 Silver Slugger Award winners on Thursday earned the award for the first time. In fact, Nolan Arenado was the only National League player who had won the award previously. Another three, including Arenado, earned it for just the second time. I have a feeling most of them will be winning more in the coming years.

Pirates suspend Keone Kela two games for contract violation

Mitchell Layton/Getty Images
Leave a comment

On Monday, the Pirates announced the club suspended reliever Keone Kela two games for an unspecified contract violation. Kela will begin serving the suspension tonight.

Kela, 26, went on the injured list in early May with a right shoulder injury. He was on a rehab assignment with Triple-A Indianapolis for the last week and a half. Prior to the injury, Kela posted a 4.63 ERA with an 11/4 K/BB ratio in 11 2/3 innings.

After sitting out Monday and Tuesday, Kela can rejoin the Pirates on Wednesday in the middle of their four-game home series against the Cardinals.