Getty Images

Video: Marlins’ double play revoked

7 Comments

The Marlins lost to the Indians on Friday night, 6-2, no thanks to third base umpire Andy Fletcher.

In the bottom of the first inning, with a runner on first and no outs, Jason Kipnis swung on a 3-2 fastball outside from Miami starter Andrew Cashner. Adeiny Hechavarria fired to second to catch Carlos Santana in a strike-’em-out, throw-’em-out double play, and that’s where the fun ended for the Marlins. Third base ump Andy Fletcher ruled no swing on Kipnis’, uh, swing, turning a two-out, no runners on base scenario into a no out, two runners on base headache.

A shaky start for Cashner took a dark turn after the botched double play, leaving the right-hander with six hits, six earned runs, six strikeouts, and a career-high six walks after five innings. The Marlins fared no better at the plate, helping Cleveland starter Carlos Carrasco to his third double-digit strikeout performance of the year.

Still, it’s easier, and not entirely unreasonable, to blame the ump for this one. Without that walk, the Marlins might have had to contend with a one-run game instead of a four-run deficit. After tonight’s loss, they’ll have to hope Jose Fernandez’s command doesn’t give the umpiring crew any leeway tomorrow.

Video: José Altuve loses two-run home run to fan interference

Bob Levey/Getty Images
3 Comments

What is modern postseason baseball without controversy involving replay review? In the bottom of the first inning of ALCS Game 4, with the Astros trailing the Red Sox 2-0, José Altuve slapped a Rick Porcello fastball to deep right field. Deep enough for a game-tying two-run home run, in fact. Right fielder Mookie Betts tracked the ball and leaped at the last minute to try to snag the ball, but came up a little short. The ball at first glance appeared to bounce off of a fan’s hand and back onto the field. Right field umpire Joe West initially ruled fan interference, meaning Altuve was out. The Astros challenged and the ruling was upheld, controversially.

Major League Baseball offered clarification on the ruling. Per Joel Sherman of the New York Post:

That was a huge swing for both teams as the game would have been tied otherwise. The Astros did push across a run later, in the bottom of the second, and the Red Sox added a run in the third, so the game is 3-1 as of this writing.