Andrelton Simmons turned a nifty heads up double play

5 Comments

Andrelton Simmons‘ defensive prowess requires no introduction. But he’s not the best merely because the amazing feats of range and physicality he displays with regularity. No, sometimes it’s a matter of simple savvy.

This afternoon Simmons and the Angels are facing the Astros in Houston. In the bottom of the fifth George Springer came up to bat with one out and runners on first and third. He lofted one to Simmons at short. He could’ve easily caught it for out number two. Instead, he let it drop in front of him so he could turn the double play by picking up the ball, walking it to second himself and then firing to first:

There’s a rule that says you can’t intentionally drop a ball to create that situation. But there’s nothing that says you have to catch it. Simmons wisely didn’t and got his team out of the inning without a run scoring. If he hadn’t, the Astros would’ve had another shot to get that runner in from third. At the moment it’s a 1-1 game, so that might prove to be a pretty big play.