Anthony Gose somehow got away with this slide

Hannah Foslien/Getty Images
23 Comments

The slide rule has been implemented without much of a problem so far this year. Jose Bautista¬†notably made a slide violation in the season’s opening days, but otherwise, players have quickly learned what constitutes a good slide and what doesn’t.

Anthony Gose, however, made what appeared to be a clear violation of the slide rule in the top of the sixth inning of Tuesday’s game against the Nationals. The bases were loaded and Joe Ross induced what appeared to be an inning ending double play from Austin Romine. Second baseman Daniel Murphy threw to shortstop Danny Espinosa for the first out. Gose slid into Espinosa in an attempt to break up the attempt, and Espinosa’s throw to first base was late. Gose, however, never touched second base or even attempted to grab it with an outstretched arm.

The slide was reviewed and the umpires felt Gose made a “bona fide slide”.

[mlbvideo id=”680283983″ width=”600″ height=”336″ /]

Rule 6.10(j), per MLB.com:

[…] a runner will have to make a “bona fide slide,” which is defined as making contact with the ground before reaching the base, being able to and attempting to reach the base with a hand or foot, being able to and attempting to remain on the base at the completion of the slide (except at home plate) and not changing his path for the purpose of initiating contact with a fielder.

Both Gose and Romine should have been out, ending the inning without any additional scoring. The Tigers ended up getting a run on the play, and Miguel Cabrera followed up with an RBI single. The Nationals lost 5-4.