Daniel Nava forgot the number of outs during Tuesday’s game

AP Photo/Pat Sullivan
7 Comments

Angels outfielder Daniel Nava is having a pretty good spring. He’s attempting to prove himself capable of handling left field duties, at least in a part-time capacity, after signing a one-year, $1.375 million contract back in December. So far, he’s racked up 11 hits in 18 at-bats.

Things are going to good for Nava that even a big mental blunder turned into an inning-ending out.

As Jeff Fletcher of the Orange County Register recalls, there was one out and a runner on first base when Kyle Seager hit a fly ball to Nava in left field. Nava caught it at the warning track and, thinking that it was the final out of the inning, flipped the ball over the fence to some fans.

The umpires initially awarded the runner, Stefan Romero, two bases because the ball went out of the field of play. However, Angels manager Mike Scioscia instructed pitcher Mike Morin to appeal to first base before pitching to the next batter. Upon appeal, the umpire ruled that Romero didn’t tag up at first base, meaning Romero was out number three of the inning.

[mlbvideo id=”555024483″ width=”600″ height=”336″ /]

Spring training is always good for the laughs. Nava had a good sense of humor about it after the game. From Fletcher’s article:

“I obviously skipped a lot of the beginning math classes in California,” said Nava, a Santa Clara University graduate. “I didn’t learn my counting, but my (2 1/2-year-old) daughter will teach me tonight to count to 10. Or 3.”