You may want to sit down for this: Cubs name Jake Arrieta their Opening Day starter


Some teams have a tough decision regarding which pitcher to start on Opening Day, but the Cubs are not one of them. Jake Arrieta has officially been named the Opening Day starter following a season in which he went 22-6 with a 1.77 ERA and won the Cy Young award.

Arrieta came into last season with 34 career wins and the Cubs went with Jon Lester on Opening Day last year followed by Arrieta in Game 2. This year it’ll likely be the other way around and after Arrieta and Lester the rest of the Cubs’ rotation includes John Lackey, Kyle Hendricks, and Jason Hammel.

Just for fun, here are the Cubs’ starters on Opening Day since 2005:

2016: Jake Arrieta
2015: Jon Lester
2014: Jeff Samardzija
2013: Jeff Samardzija
2012: Ryan Dempster
2011: Ryan Dempster
2010: Carlos Zambrano
2009: Carlos Zambrano
2008: Carlos Zambrano
2007: Carlos Zambrano
2006: Carlos Zambrano
2005: Carlos Zambrano