AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast

Jake Arrieta beats Clayton Kershaw, Zack Greinke for 2015 National League Cy Young Award


Congratulations are in order for Cubs right-hander Jake Arrieta, who was named the 2015 National League Cy Young Award winner Wednesday by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Arrieta topped Dodgers co-aces Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw, earning 17 first-place votes to Greinke’s 10 and Kershaw’s three.

Arrieta had a sparkling 1.77 ERA, 0.865 WHIP, and 236/48 K/BB ratio in 229 innings this season for Chicago, leading the club to the playoffs for the first time since 2008. He threw a no-hitter, three shutouts, and led all major league pitchers with four complete games.

The 29-year-old Arrieta was especially dominant in the second half of the regular season, managing a 0.75 ERA in 107 1/3 innings between July 19 and October 2.

This is the third major BBWAA award for the Cubs this offseason, with third baseman Kris Bryant capturing National League Rookie of the Year honors on Monday and manager Joe Maddon being named the National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday.

Dallas Keuchel won the 2015 Cy Young Award in the American League.

Player to be named later in Yan Gomes deal named

Getty Images
1 Comment

On November 30 the Nationals acquired catcher Yan Gomes from the Indians acquired infielder Andruw Monasterio from the Nationals for Daniel Johnson, Jefry Rodriguez and a player to be named later. The player has now been named: Andruw Monasterio.

Monasterio, an had been acquired by the Nationals from the Cubs in August in the Daniel Murphy deal. Now the 21-year-old infielder is on his way to Cleveland. He hit .267/.363/.338 in high-A ball last season. He’s probably a future utilityman. But hey, at least he now has a name.

[Editor: that’s not how “player to be named” works]

Anyway. Enjoy your Monday.