Twins call up prospect Alex Meyer after switch to bullpen

4 Comments

One month ago the Twins shifted top-100 prospect Alex Meyer from the rotation to the bullpen at Triple-A due to ongoing control problems. And now they’re calling him up for his MLB debut as a reliever.

Meyer thrived in the bullpen, posting a 0.53 ERA and 20/6 K/BB ratio in 17 innings while holding opponents to a .188 batting average. And at 6-foot-9 with a high-90s fastball the former first-round draft pick certainly profiles as a potential late-inning bullpen option.

His control remains an issue, but the Twins are hoping that Meyer focusing on working 1-2 innings at a time will allow him to fully unleash his powerful raw stuff. Glen Perkins has the closer role locked down, but Meyer could supplant Casey Fien and Blaine Boyer as Minnesota’s primary setup man three years after the Twins acquired him from the Nationals in exchange for Denard Span.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
18 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.