Ubaldo Jimenez was ejected, wrongfully, for hitting Pablo Sandoval with a pitch

77 Comments

Orioles starter was ejected with two outs in the fourth inning after hitting Red Sox third baseman Pablo Sandoval with a pitch. Neither side had been issued a warning by home plate umpire Jordan Baker, but Jimenez was ejected immediately. He had shut the Red Sox out on no hits to that point, though he had walked three.

As the three walks indicate — and as Keith Law noted on Twitter — control isn’t exactly Jimenez’s forte. That he might throw a wayward pitch that hits a batter would not be unprecedented. Though Jimenez has never led the league in hit batsmen, he has twice led the league in wild pitches.

Baker, ostensibly, felt that Jimenez was retaliating because Sandoval slid hard into second base to break up a double play in the second inning.

Kevin Gausman relieved Jimenez and both sides were warned following the ejection, per MLB.com’s Britt Ghiroli.

Update (9:05 PM EST): Here’s the video. Funny thing is Jimenez likely gets away with it if he wildly missed away for a ball first.

[mlbvideo id=”77508583″ width=”600″ height=”336″ /]