David Price on contract extension talk: “I don’t feel like closing any doors.”


Tigers starter David Price would prefer that contract extension discussions end sooner rather than later, but would be open to negotiations during the regular season, as Bob Nightengale of USA TODAY reports. Most upcoming big-name free agents, like Nationals starter Jordan Zimmermann for example, will negotiate until Opening Day, at which point their attention shifts to their jobs on the field.

The Tigers acquired Price from the Rays in a three-way trade at the deadline last year. Over 11 starts in his new uniform, Price posted a 3.59 ERA with an 82/15 K/BB ratio in 77 2/3 innings. The Tigers lost his only post-season start despite allowing only two runs over eight innings in Game 3 of the ALDS against the Orioles.

Nightengale suggests Price will fetch $150 million at minimum if he were to reach free agency, and he could potentially get a windfall similar to Max Scherzer’s $210 million from the Nationals. The Tigers offered Scherzer $144 million over six years, which Scherzer rejected, and never seriously contemplated going above $144 million for the right-hander’s services.

Giants place Samardjiza on IL due to shoulder impingement

Getty Images
Leave a comment

LOS ANGELES — Jeff Samardjiza has been placed on the 10-day injured list by the San Francisco Giants due to right shoulder impingement.

Manager Gabe Kapler said before Saturday’s game against the Los Angeles Dodgers that the right-hander told trainers and the coaching staff that he felt like wasn’t able to get the arm loose during Friday’s game. Samardjiza is scheduled to undergo an MRI on Saturday.

Samardjiza went four-plus innings and allowed six runs on seven hits in a 7-2 loss to the Dodgers. He is 0-2 with a 9.88 ERA in three starts.

The Giants have recalled left-hander Andrew Suarez from their alternate training site, but Kapler said he hasn’t finalized a revised starting rotation.