Braves reliever Shae Simmons undergoes Tommy John surgery

7 Comments

The Braves announced this afternoon that reliever Shae Simmons underwent Tommy John reconstructive surgery on his right elbow. The 24-year-old will miss the entire 2015 season.

A hard-throwing right-hander, Simmons posted a 2.91 ERA and 23/11 K/BB ratio over 21 2/3 innings as a rookie in 2014 prior to missing the final two months of the season due to lingering shoulder soreness. The Braves were expecting him to be a part of their bullpen this year, but Mark Bowman of MLB.com reports that he felt discomfort in his elbow during a bullpen session last week before getting the bad news.

The Braves have brought in a host of veteran bullpen arms over the past few days, including Jose Veras, Matt Capps, and Todd Coffey, which makes a lot more sense now that we know about Simmons. Jason Grilli and Veras figure to be the top candidates to set up for Craig Kimbrel.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
21 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.