Madison Bumgarner is the Associated Press’ Male Athlete of the Year


Actually, three baseball players finished one, two and three in the AP’s voting for “Male Athlete of the Year.” The vote, cast by U.S. editors and news directors, went like this: 1. Madison Bumgarner; 2. Clayton Kershaw; and 3. Derek Jeter.

Bumgarner winning means that the postseason matters an awful lot to editors and news directors. Jeter coming in third means that column inches matters a lot too. Imagine that.