The Astros have talked to Sergio Romo and Luke Gregerson


The Astros had the highest offer out to Andrew Miller before he signed with the Yankees last Friday and they were mentioned as a possibility for David Robertson before he agreed to a deal with the White Sox this week, but they remain determined to land a late-inning bullpen arm.

According to Evan Drellich of the Houston Chronicle, the Astros have talked to free agent relievers Sergio Romo and Luke Gregerson. Both could be options to close with Houston, which could make them a more appealing landing spot.

Romo struggled out of the gate with the Giants this past season before losing his closer job, but he finished the year strong. Gregerson doesn’t have as much closing experience, but he has been one of the game’s premier set-up men since breaking into the majors in 2009 and deserves a shot. Chris Cotillo of MLB Daily Dish reported this morning that Gregerson is likely to get at least a three-year contract.

Mike Trout voted 2019 American League Most Valuable Player

Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

The Baseball Writers Association of America voted Angels outfielder Mike Trout the Most Valuable Player in the American League for the 2019 season. He received 17 of 30 first-place votes, earning the third AL MVP Award of his career.

Trout, 28, missed the final three weeks of the season due to a foot injury, but his numbers were still strong enough to overcome the competition. He led the majors with a .438 on-base percentage and a 185 adjusted OPS, and led the AL with a .645 slugging percentage and 1.083 OPS. He also slugged 45 home runs, knocked in 104 runs, scored 110 runs, and stole 11 bases in 600 plate appearances. FanGraphs also gave him an edge over the competition in WAR at 8.6.

Trout, who also won the award in 2014 and ’16, is the third Angel to snag the hardware, joining Don Baylor (1979) and Vladimir Guerrero Sr. (2004). He is the 11th player to win three MVP awards, joining Jimmie Foxx, Joe DiMaggio, Yogi Berra, Mickey Mantle, Álex Rodríguez, Stan Musial, Roy Campanella, Mike Schmidt, Albert Pujols, and Barry Bonds. Bonds is the only player to have won the award more than three times, winning a whopping seven MVP awards.

Alex Bregman finished in a close second place followed by Marcus  Semien, DJ LeMahieu, and Xander Bogaerts. Also receiving votes were Matt Chapman, George Springer, Mookie Betts, Nelson Cruz, Gerrit Cole, Justin Verlander, Rafael Devers, Jorge Polanco, Austin Meadows, Francisco Lindor, Carlos Santana, Gleyber Torres, Eddie Rosario, José Abreu, Max Kepler, J.D. Martinez, Yoán Moncada, Charlie Morton, Matt Olson, and Jorge Soler.