Nationals will try once more to sign Jordan Zimmermann to an extension


If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again. Ken Rosenthal of FOX Sports reports that the Nationals will make another attempt to sign starter Jordan Zimmermann to a contract extension. The two sides had previously engaged in extension talks but agreed on only a two-year deal back in January, paying him $7.5 million in 2014 and $16.5 million for 2015. The right-hander can become a free agent after the season.

Current free agents Jon Lester and Max Scherzer are each expected to earn contracts of at least six years in the area of $150 to $200 million, which would be models for a long-term deal for Zimmermann. The 28-year-old right-hander has a 3.00 ERA over the last four seasons, a mark bested by only seven other pitchers (min. 500 innings).

In the event no progress can be made on the extension front, the Nationals would still be open to trading Zimmermann, but they would prefer to keep him around in D.C.

Royals, Alex Gordon close to contract agreement

Alex Gordon
Cody Glenn/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
1 Comment’s Jeffrey Flanagan reports that the Royals and outfielder Alex Gordon are “getting close” to an agreement on a one-year contract. Terms of the deal aren’t yet known, but the Royals could make it official within the next few days.

Gordon, who turns 36 years old next month, hit .266/.345/.396 with 13 home runs and 76 RBI over 633 plate appearances with the Royals this past season. His offense has waned, owning an adjusted OPS of 84 since 2016 (100 is average), but he still plays decent defense.

Gordon has spent all 13 years of his major league career with the Royals. With the club in a rebuilding phase, he will serve as the clubhouse leader and be a mentor to younger players on the roster.