Mike Trout, Giancarlo Stanton win the Hank Aaron Award


Angels center fielder Mike Trout and Marlins right fielder Giancarlo Stanton are the winners of the Hank Aaron Award for their respective leagues, Major League Baseball has just announced. The award is given to the best offensive player in each league.

Trout had the third-best OPS in the American League at .939, slashing .287/.377/.561. He tied for third in home runs with Jose Abreu at 36, and led the league in runs scored with 115 and RBI with 111.

Stanton had the second-best OPS in the National League at .950, slashing .288/.395/.555. He led the league in home runs with 37 and knocked in the second-most runs with 105. Stanton may have led the league in RBI had he not missed the final three weeks of the season after getting hit in the face with a pitch.

Marlins sign Brandon Kintzler to one-year, $3.25 million deal

Brandon Kintzler
Nuccio DiNuzzo/Getty Images
1 Comment

Jon Morosi reported on Saturday that the Marlins signed veteran reliever Brandon Kintzler to a one-year contract worth $3.25 million. The deal includes a club option for 2020 worth $4 million with a $250,000 buyout, according to ESPN’s Jesse Rogers.

Kintzler, 35, put up a terrific 2.68 ERA with 48 strikeouts and 13 walks over 57 innings for the Cubs last season. He’s been mostly good in recent years, but relievers in their mid-30’s have had a tough time finding multi-year deals.

The Marlins have a handful of players who could rack up saves this coming season, namely Drew Steckenrider and José Ureña along with Kintzler. The club will likely use spring training to determine an official closer, if they name one at all. The Marlins have also expressed interest in free agent Pedro Strop.