Video: Umpires review, uphold Nick Franklin homer that hit the “C” ring at Tropicana Field

8 Comments

Rays second baseman Nick Franklin gave his club a 2-0 lead in the top of the second, or so he thought, when he clubbed a Hector Noesi fastball way up in the air down the right field line. Right fielder Avisail Garcia ranged back and appeared to run out of room when, all of a sudden, the ball dropped straight back down and out of play.

The initial ruling was a home run, but White Sox manager Robin Ventura asked the umpires to review the call. According to the ground rules at Tropicana Field, any ball that hits either catwalk labled the “C” or “D” ring is a homerun. Franklin struck the “C” ring. As expected, the umpires upheld the initial ruling of a home run.

[mlbvideo id=”36440913″ width=”600″ height=”336″ /]

The homer is Franklin’s first in the majors as a member of the Rays.