Michael Morse received a cortisone injection, hopes to return Tuesday


CSN Bay Area’s Andrew Baggarly is reporting that Giants 1B/OF Michael Morse returned to San Francisco to receive a cortisone injection for his ailing oblique. Manager Bruce Bochy hopes his slugger will be able to return to the lineup on Tuesday.

Morse, 32, hasn’t played since August 31. He has put together a solid season for the Giants after joining them on a one-year, $6 million deal in December. He has a .280/.338/.477 slash line with 16 home runs and 61 RBI in 480 plate appearances.

Morse had been playing first base towards the end of August, which allowed Gregor Blanco more time in left field. In three games prior to tonight, the Giants had used Joaquin Arias, Buster Posey, and Travis Ishikawa at first base. Ishikawa started at first base again in tonight’s game against the Tigers.

Justin Verlander named 2019 American League Cy Young Award winner

Getty Images

Astros starter Justin Verlander was voted by the Baseball Writers Association of America as the 2019 American League Cy Young Award winner. Teammate Gerrit Cole finished in a close second place at 159 points. Charlie Morton finished third at 75 points, Shane Bieber fourth at 64, Lance Lynn fifth at 18, Eduardo Rodríguez and Lucas Giolito sixth at eight, and Mike Minor eighth at seven.

Verlander, 36, won the AL Cy Young Award (and AL MVP Award) in 2011 with the Tigers). He and Cole became the first pair of teammates to finish first and second on the ballot for the AL Cy Young Award. Four NL teammates accomplished the feat: Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling in 2001 and ’02, Don Newcomb and Sal Maglie in 1956, and Mike Marshall and Andy Messersmith in 1974.

During the regular season, Verlander led all starting pitchers in wins (21), games started (34), innings pitched (223), and WHIP (0.803). He also compiled a 2.58 ERA with a 300/42 K/BB ratio. Along with a 300-strikeout season, Verlander achieved other milestones, including reaching 3,000 strikeouts for his career and 200 career postseason strikeouts (an all-time record).

2019 was not without controversy for Verlander, a future Hall of Famer, as he had a well-publicized disagreement with Anthony Fenech of the Detroit Free Press. He tried to have Fenech barred from the clubhouse during media availability despite the collective bargaining agreement ensuring access to BBWAA-credentialed reporters. It was one of many Astros-related scandals in 2019.

Verlander is the first Astro to win the Cy Young Award since Dallas Keuchel in 2015. Roger Clemens (2004) and Mike Scott (1986) also won the award back when the Astros were in the National League.