David Ortiz credited with hit on contested call from last week; apologizes for his actions

64 Comments

Red Sox slugger David Ortiz went out of his way to complain about a scoring decision last Wednesday after a ball that he hit to Twins first baseman Joe Mauer was ruled as an error instead of a single. This led to MLB executive vice president Joe Torre issuing a strongly-worded statement in response to Ortiz, basically telling him to show some respect and professionalism. Well, in the latest (and hopefully the last) twist in this story, official scorer Bob Ellis changed his call today and awarded him a hit.

While Ortiz got his wish in the long run, there’s little doubt that he went about the entire thing in the absolute worst way. That’s why he issued a public apology while talking to reporters prior to tonight’s game against the Mariners. Scott Lauber of the Boston Herald has part of his comments:

“All I have to say is I know I owe an apology to MLB, Mr. Joe Torre, even the scorekeeping guys,” Ortiz said before the Red Sox opened their three-game series against the Mariners. “I know that I had frustration come out that way, and that’s not what you really want. You don’t want things to be like that and everything. But this has been a season already that has been jam-packed with frustration. At the end of the day, our job is based on results. I sit down and watch that TV every night after the game and I go 0-for-4, and all people talk and bitch about is why I’m not hitting .300. We are a family that of course needs to protect each other. The whole week has been about me protecting over a hit. There’s a lot of people mad at me because I argued something that I didn’t think I should get. I don’t blame them. I’m not apologizing just because I got that result. It’s because the message was spread out based on frustration. That’s why I’m apologizing.”

For what it’s worth, the Red Sox were planning to appeal the call on behalf of Ortiz, but Ellis changed the ruling before they had a chance to do so.

Attempting to complete cycle, Robinson Chirinos thrown out to end game

Leslie Plaza Johnson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
1 Comment

With his Astros trailing the Tigers 2-1, catcher Robinson Chirinos began his at-bat in the bottom of the ninth a triple shy of the cycle. He doubled in the second inning, singled in the fourth, and hit a solo homer in the seventh. Yordan Álvarez and Yuli Gurriel both struck out, leaving the Astros’ fate in the hands of Chirinos against Joe Jiménez. After working the count to 2-1, Chirinos slapped an 85 MPH slider to the gap in right-center field. A diving Travis Demeritte could not come up with the ball, but center fielder Harold Castro fired the ball back in to Gordon Beckham, who then made a perfect throw to Dawel Lugo at third base. Chirinos was tagged out for the final out of the game. No triple, no cycle. The Astros lost 2-1.

Chirinos was attempting to become the first Astro to hit for the cycle since Brandon Barnes on July 19, 2013 against the Mariners.

The Astros entered Wednesday’s game as the largest favorite in 15 seasons, according to ESPN’s David Purdum. The Astros were -500 per Caesars Sportsbook. Other sportsbooks had them at -550. So the Tigers’ win was quite the upset.

Justin Verlander went the distance in the loss. The only blemishes on his line were solo homers to Ronny Rodríguez in the fifth and John Hicks in the ninth. They were the only hits he allowed while walking none and striking out 11.