VIDEO: Call overturned when Pirates catcher Russell Martin blocks the plate … on a forceout

57 Comments

Rule 7.13 still needs further clarification, especially after this confusing replay overturn in the third inning of Wednesday night’s game between the Reds and Pirates at Pittsburgh’s PNC Park …

[mlbvideo id=”33840745″ width=”400″ height=”224″ /]

It’s a forceout situation, so Martin has to keep one foot on the plate. And it’s the throw that clearly guides him into the runner’s path. There is no motivation for a catcher to block home plate on a force play, right?