Video: The Rockies turned a triple play (with help from an interference call)

11 Comments

The Rockies walked off in the tenth inning on Justin Morneau’s two-run home run, but that wasn’t the most interesting part of Sunday’s series finale against the Padres. In the top of the third inning, pitcher Juan Nicasio was in a bit of a pickle with runners on first and second with no outs, already down 1-0.

Carlos Quentin hit a weak grounder to third baseman Nolan Arenado, who stepped on third base and quickly made a jump-throw to second baseman D.J. LeMahieu for out number two. LeMahieu took the ball out in front of the second base bag and avoided a sprawling Seth Smith to fire the ball to first baseman Justin Morneau, but he was a bit too late to get Quentin. Second base umpire Seth Buckminster, however, ruled Quentin out as a result of Smith’s interference, giving the Rockies a triple play. It appeared that Smith made contact with LeMahieu’s foot with his hand, though he did not grab the Rockies’ infielder.

Interference is not reviewable by instant replay, so the umpire’s ruling was final. Watch the play as it unfolded:

[mlbvideo id=”32977661″ width=”600″ height=”336″ /]