Matt Moore okay after taking comebacker to the face

3 Comments

In the fourth inning of Sunday afternoon’s start against the Red Sox, Matt Moore took a comebacker to the face off of the bat of Xander Bogaerts. Moore appeared to at least partially deflect the ball and had the presence of mind to chase after the ball and throw out Bogaerts at first base to end the inning.

Video of the incident:

Moore left the game under his own power with a team trainer. Marc Topkin of the Tampa Bay Times said there didn’t appear to be any urgency. After the game, Topkin reported that Moore got a couple stitches for a laceration on his lip, and that the lefty wasn’t showing any symptoms of a concussion.

Moore says he should be ready to start the regular season. Maddon is as optimistic, but will defer to the team’s medical staff.

The incident had more gravity as a result of the gruesome injury suffered by Reds reliever Aroldis Chapman last week.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
19 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.