Cardinals top outfield prospect Oscar Taveras was limited to 46 games last season at Triple-A Memphis because of a severe right ankle injury that eventually required surgery. He was ordered to take it easy this winter so that the damage could fully heal. Now that Cardinals camp has opened in Jupiter, Florida, the hard-swinging 21-year-old is ready to be unleashed.
Rick Hummel of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch writes that Taveras did “extensive running Wednesday” for the first time since last summer’s ankle procedure and reported no physical limitations. “He’s been working hard, doing a lot of short movements, explosive movements,” said Cardinals manager Mike Matheny. “This should lead him to being ready to go.”
Taveras is a .320/.377/.518 hitter in over 1,500 career minor league plate appearances.
He could be a secret weapon this summer for an already-loaded St. Louis squad.
The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.
Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.
Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.
James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.
The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.