The Padres attempted the hidden-ball trick against the Giants

14 Comments

Pablo Sandoval hit an RBI double with two outs in the top of the fifth inning. Before Hunter Pence could see a pitch from Padres starter Sean O’Sullivan, shortstop Everth Cabrera tried the hidden ball trick to catch Sandoval napping at second. Umpire Laz Diaz had granted Sandoval a time out, however, invalidating the play. Pence would eventually strike out to end the frame.

Watch the attempted hidden ball trick:

I’m no expert lip reader, but I think umpire Laz Diaz said, “had time, though”, motioning to home plate umpire Mike Winters.

Even though it didn’t work, the attempted hidden ball trick is still worthy of applause. Would that it were used more often.