MLB admits the Angel Hernandez call was blown, but nothing else is gonna happen with it

65 Comments

Straight from Joe Torre’s office:

“By rule, the decision to reverse a call by use of instant replay is at the sole discretion of the crew chief.  In the opinion of Angel Hernandez, who was last night’s crew chief, there was not clear and convincing evidence to overturn the decision on the field.  It was a judgment call, and as such, it stands as final.

“Home and away broadcast feeds are available for all uses of instant replay, and they were available to the crew last night.  Given what we saw, we recognize that an improper call was made.  Perfection is an impossible standard in any endeavor, but our goal is always to get the calls right.  Earlier this morning, we began the process of speaking with the crew to thoroughly review all the circumstances surrounding last night’s decision.”

So they admit that the call was wrong. And they do answer the question as to what replay Angel Hernandez was looking at — the TV feeds, which clearly showed the homer.

But he blew it. Clear and simple. And one hopes that the “speaking with the crew” involves a lot of yelling.

Video: Tony Kemp makes a sensational catch to halt two-out rally by Red Sox

Jason Miller/Getty Images
3 Comments

After scoring two quick runs against Astros starter Dallas Keuchel in Game 3 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening, the Red Sox offense threatened again in the third. J.D. Martinez and Xander Bogaerts drew back-to-back two-out walks, bringing up Steve Pearce, who hits lefties quite well. With a 2-2 count, Pearce lifted an 81 MPH slider towards the Crawford Boxes in right field, a mere 315 feet away from home plate. Left fielder Tony Kemp, listed at 5’6″, ranged back, timed his jump and crashed into the scoreboard while holding onto the ball. The catch prevented two runs from scoring which would have extended the Astros’ deficit. Instead, the score remained 2-1.

Kemp’s catch will certainly be in the running for the best play of the postseason.