Denard Span had no idea what a double-switch was

19 Comments

Before this season Nationals center fielder Denard Span played his entire five-year career in the American League with the Twins, so he wasn’t quite up to speed on National League rules.

In fact, Adam Kilgore of the Washington Post writes that Span was confused about being removed from yesterday’s game as part of a standard double-switch and initially thought he was being benched by manager Davey Johnson:

“I’m like, ‘Did I not hustle? What did I do?’ ” Span said afterward. “I didn’t know what was going on. I’ve never been pulled out of the game like that. I’m still learning. Honestly, I’m starting to kind of understand it, but I still don’t fully understand it. I understand what’s going on, obviously. It just doesn’t make sense to me.”

Even after a gentle explanation, Span still wasn’t quite sure of the whole double-switch thing. … “If I ever become a manager,” Span said, “it’s going to be in the American League.”

Not quite as bad as Donovan McNabb not knowing the rules to NFL overtimes a few years ago, but still kind of weird. The good news for Span is that by the time he becomes a manager there’s a decent chance both leagues will be using the designated hitter anyway.