Watch Harold Reynolds argue why the infield-fly rule was the right call

50 Comments

No matter where you fall on the debate of whether Sam Holbrook was correct in calling the infield-fly rule on a pop-up off the bat of Andrelton Simmons during yesterday’s Wild Card between the Braves and Cardinals, this explanation by Harold Reynolds of MLB Network is worth watching.

I still think it’s debatable whether Kozma made what can be considered an “ordinary effort” to get to that ball. And I don’t think he had any grand design on dropping the ball to start a double play. But this is by far the best explanation I have seen as to why Holbrook made the judgment that it was the right call. Of course, the key word there is “judgment,” because a different umpire may have seen the play differently. And that’s why this still feels a little weird. Maybe the wording of the actual rule needs some cleaning up?

The continued controversy over this call is naturally getting a lot of attention, but don’t forget that the Braves shot themselves in the foot by committing three errors and botching a safety squeeze. This loss isn’t on Holbrook.

Player to be named later in Yan Gomes deal named

Getty Images
1 Comment

On November 30 the Nationals acquired catcher Yan Gomes from the Indians acquired infielder Andruw Monasterio from the Nationals for Daniel Johnson, Jefry Rodriguez and a player to be named later. The player has now been named: Andruw Monasterio.

Monasterio, an had been acquired by the Nationals from the Cubs in August in the Daniel Murphy deal. Now the 21-year-old infielder is on his way to Cleveland. He hit .267/.363/.338 in high-A ball last season. He’s probably a future utilityman. But hey, at least he now has a name.

[Editor: that’s not how “player to be named” works]

Anyway. Enjoy your Monday.