Anibal Sanchez takes no-hitter into seventh in victory

1 Comment

Anibal Sanchez has had a pretty difficult time since joining the Tigers in a July deal with the Marlins, but that hasn’t extended to his starts versus Cleveland. He took a no-hitter into the seventh inning Saturday in the Tigers’ 5-3 victory.

Sanchez faced the minimum through 6 2/3 innings, with the only batter to reach doing so on a HBP (he was promptly erased on a double-play ball). Unfortunately, he gave up three straight hits from there, resulting in his removal. Carlos Santana tripled to break up the no-hit bit, Russ Canzler doubled and Lonnie Chisenhall delivered an RBI single, cutting Detroit’s lead to 5-2. The Indians rallied for one more run in the eighth, but that was it for them.

Sanchez is now 2-0 with a 1.45 ERA in three starts against the Indians as a member of the Tigers. He’s 1-5 with a 5.66 ERA in his other six outings for the team.

The win kept Detroit one game back of Chicago in the AL Central after the White Sox beat the Twins earlier in the afternoon.

Video: Starling Marte refuses to take first base after being hit by pitch

Tim Warner/Getty Images
6 Comments

Pirates outfielder Starling Marte was hit on the hand by a Jack Flaherty pitch in the fourth inning of Tuesday night’s game against the Cardinals. Rather than take first base, Marte — who came to the plate with a runner on first base — insisted to home plate umpire Bruce Dreckman that the ball hit the knob of the bat, not his hand. Marte was allowed to continue his at-bat, though manager Clint Hurdle came out to discuss the ruling with Dreckman. Marte eventually grounded into a fielder’s choice. He then got caught attempting to steal second base and the Pirates scored zero runs in the inning.

According to Baseball Prospectus, a team that has runners on first and second with no outs is expected to score 1.55 runs. Having a runner on first base with one out yields 0.56 expected runs. Marte essentially cost his team a run by rejecting first base. Oops.