MLB overrules official scorer, gives Delmon Young error

35 Comments

Delmon Young’s hilarious defensive misplay last Friday was ruled a “triple” by the official scorer in Chicago despite the fact that he did a 360-degree spin going after a fly ball to left field … and then dropped it.

At the time I wondered what exactly the point was of even having “errors” if Young’s play wasn’t ruled as one. MLB apparently agreed, because Mark Gonzales of the Chicago Tribune reports that they’ve overruled the official scorer and changed it from a “triple” to an error.

And for anyone who missed the play the first time, here’s Delmon in all his outfielding glory:

Carlos Martínez underwent ‘small procedure’ on right shoulder

David J. Griffin/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

Cardinals president of baseball operations John Mozeliak confirmed on Sunday, to KMOX/1120 AM and StlToday.com, that pitcher Carlos Martínez underwent a “small procedure” to address discomfort in his right shoulder and encourage healing as well as a platelet-rich plasma injection.

Martínez, 28, began experiencing shoulder issues in 2018 which impacted his ability to pitch deep into games. Upon his return from the injured list in late August that year, the club moved him into the bullpen. He remained in the bullpen for 2019, making his season debut in May, and had a successful year, racking up 24 saves with a 3.17 ERA and a 53/18 K/BB ratio in 48 1/3 innings.

Martínez wants to start again and the Cardinals have said they will afford him the opportunity. He is expected to be on track to participate in spring training as usual.