Jesus Montero exits game after being hit in the helmet by a pitch

4 Comments

The Mariners were given quite the scare earlier this afternoon when Jesus Montero was hit in the helmet by a pitch from Rockies’ right-hander Edgmer Escalona. Yes, the Rockies. Plenty of drama for them in the 24 hours for them, huh?

Montero immediately fell to the ground, but quickly got to his feet and began jawing with Escalona before being restrained by Mariners’ manager Eric Wedge and team trainer Rick Griffin. The good news is that Montero told Larry Stone of the Seattle Times that he feels fine and could play again as soon as tomorrow. It’s not clear whether the Mariners plan to send him for any tests as a precaution.

Montero went 1-for-7 last week against the A’s in the Opening Series in Japan. The 22-year-old is expected to split his time between the DH spot and catcher this season.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
21 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.