Oops: Scott Podsednik signs minors deal with Blue Jays after turning down $2 million from Dodgers

21 Comments

Back in November the Dodgers exercised their half of a $2 million mutual option on Scott Podsednik, but a couple days later he declined his side of the option and chose free agency instead.

Oops.

After spending four months in search of a better deal Podsednik has signed a minor-league contract with the Blue Jays, meaning he’s not even guaranteed a spot on the Opening Day roster, let alone $2 million.

In fairness to Podsednik he seemingly has a good chance to make the team and perhaps even begin the season as Toronto’s primary leadoff man if the Blue Jays decide to use Jose Bautista at third base. Of course, he likely would have been the Dodgers’ primary leadoff man too, and wouldn’t have had to spend the next six weeks fighting for a job (and perhaps a lesser salary) first.

Umpire Cory Blaser made two atrocious calls in the top of the 11th inning

Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images
10 Comments

The Astros walked off 3-2 winners in the bottom of the 11th inning of ALCS Game 2 against the Yankees. Carlos Correa struck the winning blow, sending a first-pitch fastball from J.A. Happ over the fence in right field at Minute Maid Park, ending nearly five hours of baseball on Sunday night.

Correa’s heroics were precipitated by two highly questionable calls by home plate umpire Cory Blaser in the top half of the 11th.

Astros reliever Joe Smith walked Edwin Encarnación with two outs, prompting manager A.J. Hinch to bring in Ryan Pressly. Pressly, however, served up a single to left field to Brett Gardner, putting runners on first and second with two outs. Hinch again came out to the mound, this time bringing Josh James to face power-hitting catcher Gary Sánchez.

James and Sánchez had an epic battle. Sánchez fell behind 0-2 on a couple of foul balls, proceeded to foul off five of the next six pitches. On the ninth pitch of the at-bat, Sánchez appeared to swing and miss at an 87 MPH slider in the dirt for strike three and the final out of the inning. However, Blaser ruled that Sánchez tipped the ball, extending the at-bat. Replays showed clearly that Sánchez did not make contact at all with the pitch. James then threw a 99 MPH fastball several inches off the plate outside that Blaser called for strike three. Sánchez, who shouldn’t have seen a 10th pitch, was upset at what appeared to be a make-up call.

The rest, as they say, is history. One pitch later, the Astros evened up the ALCS at one game apiece. Obviously, Blaser’s mistakes in a way cancel each other out, and neither of them caused Happ to throw a poorly located fastball to Correa. It is postseason baseball, however, and umpires are as much under the microscope as the players and managers. Those were two particularly atrocious judgments by Blaser.