Santiago Casilla and the unintentional strike

6 Comments

There was an odd moment in last night’s Giants-Diamondbacks game when Santiago Casilla set out to intentionally walk Adam LaRoche and instead fired a 63-mph “fastball” right down the middle for a first-pitch strike.
MLB.com has the video, which is worth checking out if only to see LaRoche’s dumbfounded reaction to what had just happened.
Casilla went on to successfully fire the next four pitches out of the strike zone despite getting ahead in the count 0-1. And it worked, because he induced an inning-ending double play from the next batter, Mark Reynolds.
I’ve always assumed that some team somewhere has faked an intentional walk and thrown a strike to get ahead in the count, but doing it on accident is definitely a first. I give the home-plate umpire credit for paying enough attention to actually call it a strike.