Quick hits: Harang done for the year

Leave a comment

Here’s a few quick hits to get you started for Sunday’s action:



– According to Ed Price of AOL Fanhouse,
Aaron Harang will miss the rest of the season after undergoing an
emergency appendectomy. He finishes yet another disappointing
campaign at 6-14 with a 4.21 ERA. His 14 losses led the majors, while
only four other pitches gave up more homers (24 in 162 1/3 innings).
However, his 2.86 ERA over his last four starts give at least some hope
that he’ll be worth the $12.5 million owed to him next season.
Scott Rolen was activated from the disabled list to take his spot on the roster.



– On the heels of Aaron Cook going down with a strained right shoulder, the Rockies are on the verge of adding some reinforcements
in veterans Russ Ortiz and Jason Giambi. Ortiz was 3-6 with a 5.57 ERA
in 23 games (13 starts) with the Astros before being released on July
30. He was granted his release by the Yankees last week after going 2-1
with Triple-A Columbus. As for Giambi, he’ll function as a left-handed
bat off the bench. The 38-year-old slugger batted just .193/.332/.364
with 11 homers and 40 RBI before being released by the Athletics on
August 7. Both are expected to join the team when rosters expand in
September and would be eligible for post-season play.




– Oh, the ego. Jonathan Papelbon and Manny Delcarmen have expressed some concern
at the prospect of the Red Sox acquiring Billy Wagner. Papelbon went as
far to ask, “What has he done? Has he pitched this year?” while
comparing the potential move to Eric Gagne in 2007. The Red Sox
have until 1pm ET on Tuesday to complete a deal for the 38-year-old
southpaw.

Joe West explains the fan interference call he clearly blew

Getty Images
3 Comments

One of the biggest plays in a game full of big plays in last night’s Red Sox-Astros game was the call of fan interference that took a home run away from Jose Altuve.

Well, actually, it didn’t technically take a home run away, because right field umpire Joe West never called it a home run to begin with. He called it, sorta, tentatively, fan interference and it was thrown in the lap of replay officials.

For my part — and, it seems to me, for the part of most folks watching the game — West blew the call. The fan in question did not reach out onto the field of play — Mookie Betts‘ glove entered the stands — and the rules clearly state that no interference is called if a spectator comes in contact with a batted or thrown ball without reaching onto the field of play. It’s only if he or she reaches out onto the field. If the ball is in the stands, all’s fair in love and souvenir-snagging.

After the game, West was interviewed about the call. Here is how he explained it.

 

Q. What did you see that prompted the initial call of fan interference?
JOE WEST: Well, when he jumped up to reach for the ball, the spectator reached out of the stands and hit him over the playing field and closed his glove.

Q. So the ball had not yet crossed the railing?
JOE WEST: No.

Q. And Betts’ glove had not yet crossed the railing, do you believe?
JOE WEST: No.

Q. Okay. Did the fan —
JOE WEST: Here’s the whole play, here’s the whole play. He hit the ball to right field. He jumped up to try to make a catch. The fan interfered with him over the playing field. That’s why I called spectator interference.

Q. So it’s a clear call in your mind?
JOE WEST: Yes.

Q. Were there already — was there a single call that you saw, that the replay officials saw on replay that confirmed —
JOE WEST: I don’t know what he saw. He just — the replay official said I was right.

Q. Okay.
JOE WEST: That’s all. He said I have nothing that can change it.

That last bit is not entirely true, by the way. They didn’t say, specifically, that West was right. Rather, they could not find sufficient evidence to overturn West, so the call stood. Which is an important distinction: if the ruling was that West was definitively correct, the ruling would’ve been that West’s call was “confirmed.” That is not what they said. They said the call “stands,” which meant that they didn’t have enough evidence to overturn West.

That’s a different issue in its entirety, by the way: the deference given to the field umpires and the high burden replay officials have to overturn them. Here, I suspect it was a matter of them not having sufficient camera angles establishing that the fan had not reached onto the field. I think that’s nuts given what even the primary view and some basic common sense showed — Betts did not run to the wall and then jump straight up, failing to break the plane into the stands — but the current replay system places a high burden on replay guys overruling the field umpires.

That whole setup is dumb. This is not the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals and guys like Joe West should not be treated like District Court judges to whom deference should always be granted. Replay officials have better views almost every single time and they should be able to simply substitute their judgment rather than meet some high burden aimed, I suspect, at making field umpires feel like they’re not losing power now that baseball takes a 21st century approach to officiating rather than a 19th century approach.

Unfortunately for the Astros, that is not how the replay rule works. Unfortunately for the Astros, Joe West’s judgment was to be deferred to. Unfortunately for the Astros, West blew that call and, unfortunately for the Astros, it cost them a two-run homer that could’ve changed the outcome of this game.