Bill Baer

LOS ANGELES, CA - OCTOBER 29:  Model/actress Kate Upton (L) and MLB player Justin Verlander attend the 2016 LACMA Art + Film Gala honoring Robert Irwin and Kathryn Bigelow presented by Gucci at LACMA on October 29, 2016 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images for LACMA)
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images for LACMA

Kate Upton isn’t happy about the 2016 AL Cy Young Award balloting


Red Sox starter Rick Porcello edged out Tigers starter Justin Verlander to win the 2016 American League Cy Young Award. The balloting was interesting because Verlander received significantly more first place votes than Porcello — 14 to 8 — but he was left off of two ballots, both belonging to Tampa Bay writers. As a result, Porcello won on points, 137 to 132.

Verlander’s fiancée, model/actress Kate Upton, wasn’t happy about the results. She fired off a series of tweets criticizing the process. (The first has been edited for language):

“Hey @MLB I thought I was the only person allowed to [expletive] @JustinVerlander ?! What 2 writers didn’t have him on their ballot?”

She also retweeted this tweet from Justin’s brother Ben:

While the BBWAA’s weighting system for votes is well-known, Upton makes a fair point that those two Tampa Bay writers shouldn’t have left Verlander off of their ballots. Verlander was second in the AL in ERA (3.04), second in innings pitched (227 2/3), first in strikeouts (254) and strikeout rate (28.1%), and fourth in FIP (3.40). Had Verlander gotten third-place votes from each of the Tampa writers who omitted him, he would have won by one point. Fred Goodall of the Associated Press had J.A. Happ, Zach Britton, and Aaron Sanchez in the three through five spots on his ballot. Bill Chastain had Corey Kluber, Chris Sale, and Masahiro Tanaka in his three through five spots.

Rick Porcello wins the 2016 American League Cy Young Award

CLEVELAND, OH - OCTOBER 06:  Rick Porcello #22 of the Boston Red Sox throws a pitch in the first inning against the Cleveland Indians during game one of the American League Divison Series at Progressive Field on October 6, 2016 in Cleveland, Ohio.  (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)
Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Red Sox starter Rick Porcello has been named the 2016 American League Cy Young Award winner by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Porcello is the first member of the Red Sox to win the award since Pedro Martinez in 2000.

Porcello, 27, led the majors with 22 wins and a 5.91 strikeout-to-walk ratio. He also put up a 3.15 ERA and a 189/32 K/BB ratio in 223 innings of work.

Porcello narrowly edged out Justin Verlander of the Tigers, 137 points to 132. Corey Kluber of the Indians finished in third place followed by Orioles closer Zach Britton, Chris Sale of the White Sox, J.A. Happ and Aaron Sanchez of the Blue Jays, Masahiro Tanaka of the Yankees, Andrew Miller of the Yankees and Indians, Michael Fulmer of the Tigers, and Jose Quintana of the White Sox.

Max Scherzer wins the 2016 National League Cy Young Award

WASHINGTON, DC - OCTOBER 13: Max Scherzer #31 of the Washington Nationals works against the Los Angeles Dodgers in the fifth inning during game five of the National League Division Series at Nationals Park on October 13, 2016 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)
Rob Carr/Getty Images

Nationals starter Max Scherzer has been named the 2016 National League Cy Young Award winner by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He’s the first member of the Nationals/Expos to win the Cy Young Award since Pedro Martinez in 1997 as a member of the Expos.

Scherzer, 32, led the majors with 284 strikeouts while leading the National League with 20 wins and 228 1/3 innings. He also compiled a 2.96 ERA which ranked eighth among qualified starters in the NL, but had a 3.24 FIP (5th) and a 3.37 xFIP (3rd).

Scherzer has now won the Cy Young Award in both leagues. He’s the sixth player to do so, joining Gaylord Perry, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, Roger Clemens, and Roy Halladay.

Scherzer received 25 of 30 first-place votes. Cubs starters Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks finished in second place, respectively, followed by Madison Bumgarner of the Giants, Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers, Johnny Cueto of the Giants, Jose Fernandez of the Marlins, Noah Syndergaard of the Mets, Jake Arrieta of the Cubs, and Tanner Roark of the Nationals.