Craig Calcaterra

Blogger at NBC's HardballTalk. Recovering litigator. Rake. Scoundrel. Notorious Man-About-Town.

Tyson Ross doesn’t need shoulder surgery

1 Comment

Padres starter Tyson Ross will not require surgery on his right shoulder after an MRI revealed no structural damage.

There is not a public diagnosis yet, but Padres manager Andy Green said that Ross will be shut down for a couple weeks. Green referred to it as “non-surgical.”

Ross has made only one start this year and got shelled. Last year he was 10-12 with a 3.26 ERA in a league-leading 33 starts, striking out 212 but walking 84 in 196 innings.

Psychoanalyzing Matt Harvey


That stuff I wrote in the Tiger Woods post? About the folly of playing armchair psychologist to athletes? Don’t think for a moment that, just because it’s pointless, writers will stop doing it. They’ve always done it and always will.

One place where they do it all the time is New York. There are reasons for this. One is that there are a lot more reporters covering New York teams and they’re looking for fresh angles. The “he’s a winner” or “he’s a true Yankee” or “he’s a leader” or “he has feet of clay” angles are not always the first choice when it comes to writing about a player, but they’re often the fourth, seventh or tenth, and with so many column inches to fill guys who cover the Yankees and Mets have been doing this for years.

The latest to do it is Bob Klapisch and he does it for Matt Harvey today. He does so with reference to Noah Syndergaard who, at the moment, is a better pitcher. Syndergaard’s rising star is undeniable, but it’s hilarious how Klapisch uses that as a basis for not only praising Syndergaard but for burying Harvey and drawing all kinds of conclusions about his mindset and ego and insecurities. It’s ridiculous.

It takes a trained psychologist multiple intense sessions with a patient to draw even the most basic conclusions about what makes them tick, what bothers them what drives them and what causes them to fail or succeed. A sports columnist in New Jersey thinks he can get to the bottom of that kind of thing based on some radar gun readings, some line scores, some superficial clubhouse interactions and his hunches. Sure. That’s not idiotic or anything.

Video: this is why the Royals re-signed Alex Gordon


Will the Royals get as much value out of their new contract with Alex Gordon than their last one? Kind of doubtful. Players age and they are often paid for their accomplishments than for their future, especially on winning teams.

But that’s not to say that they aren’t happy to have him around. Their pitchers are particularly happy, because Gordon is still the best left fielder in the game and he showed why on this play against the Tigers yesterday: