Getty Images

The Indians have not trailed for 67 innings


The Cleveland Indians have won 12 games in a row and are now ten games up in the American League Central (as recently as August 6 they were only up by 2.5 games). That 12-game winning streak is the longest in baseball this year.

More impressive than the winning streak itself, though? The Indians haven’t trailed since a week ago Monday.

That’s right: the last time the Indians were behind in a game was eight days ago, when the Yankees took a 2-1 lead in the bottom of the fifth inning in their game at Yankee Stadium. Cleveland tied it in the sixth and then went on to win going away, 6-2. They’ve been tied a couple of times since then, but they have not trailed at any point in their past seven games.

Next up in Cleveland’s sites: trying to chase down Houston for the best record in the American League. They are currently three games behind the Astros in that department.

(h/t to Bradley Smith)



Sheldon Ocker named winner of the 2018 J.G. Taylor Spink Award

Leave a comment

The Baseball Writers Association of America has named Sheldon Ocker the winner of the 2018 J.G. Taylor Spink Award. He will be honored with the award that is presented annually to a sportswriter “for meritorious contributions to baseball writing” during Hall of Fame inductions in Cooperstown on July 29.

Ocker began covering the Indians for the Akron Beacon Journal in 1981 and did so until 2013, when he retired. He was national president of the BBWAA in 1985 and served as chair of the Cleveland Chapter 11 times. He named Ohio Sports Writer of the Year in 1997 and 2000 by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.