Gio Gonzalez helped a kid ask his girlfriend to prom

22 Comments

Fun little anecdote from Scott Allen of the Washington Post, who tells the story of how Nationals left-hander Gio Gonzalez helped a high school senior ask his girlfriend to prom.

Nick Rolle asked his grandfather, who happens to be MASN studio host Johnny Holliday, if a Nationals player might be nice enough to help him make the prom thing a little more special and Gonzalez obliged, so the couple got field passes for a game last week and Gonzalez came over with a signed baseball that looked like this:

source:

She said yes, the happy couple hung out with Gonzalez for a while on the field, and they had a good time at prom over the weekend.

Say it with me now, everyone: Awwwwwww.

Aaron Judge was involved in a weird play in the fourth inning

Abbie Parr/Getty Images
3 Comments

Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge found himself front-and-center in a weird play in the bottom of the fourth inning during Game 4 of the ALCS on Tuesday evening. Judge drew a walk to lead off the frame. After Didi Gregorius lined out, Gary Sanchez flied out to shallow right-center.

Judge must have thought the ball had a high probability of falling in for a hit, so he was past the second base bag around the time he realized his mistake. He retraced his steps, running back to first base. Reddick’s throw hopped a couple of times but first base umpire Jerry Meals called Judge out on the tag-up play.

Manager Joe Girardi requested a review and the call was overturned: Judge was safe. However, Astros manager A.J. Hinch wanted to challenge that Judge did not re-touch second base on his way back. Rather than issuing a formal challenge, the Astros had to appeal the play by having starter Lance McCullers throw to second base, at which point second base umpire Jim Reynolds would issue a ruling. McCullers was a bit hasty, though, and made his appeal throw before Greg Bird stepped into the batter’s box. Reynolds told McCullers that he had to wait. So, McCullers again made his appeal throw.

This time, Judge was running and he was simply tagged out at second base for the final out of the inning. No need for a review.

As Ken Rosenthal explained on the FS1 broadcast, the Yankees were trying to “beat the police.” They knew Judge would have been ruled out — replays clearly showed he never re-touched the base — so they had nothing to lose by sending Judge. If he was safe, the Astros would no longer be able to appeal the play. If he’s out, then it’s the same outcome they would have had anyway.